Slim Down Challenge DAY 1

So I decided to do a 5-day slim down challenge for this week. For five days I will follow a schedule of when to work out, what to eat and when to eat it. Nevertheless, I went grocery shopping for healthier choices of food–following the recipes for each day. It was a bit more expensive than what I usually buy, but most of my daily groceries is carbs, carbs, carbs.

On Sunday, I spent a few hours prepping everything for my lunches (for five days) and started marinating day 1’s dinner. In addition, I also baked for the first time egg muffins, which are an alternative for protein since I didn’t get the Shakeology protein shakes. That’s probably the easier choice (shakes), however, I have a pretty fragile, sensitive body and digestive system that I didn’t want to throw it into shock. Plus, in the morning, I’m the first one up and I don’t want to disturb my roommates with a loud blender.

Anyway, I found out about this challenge by The Wholesome Way from someone from my hometown. She posts inspirational and motivational things on social media and makes me wish I had the drive to maintain a routine.

SlimDown_day1-4_YearOf25

For starters, I posted my “before” pic (above). I realize that I’m already thin, but I need the structure of a schedule to eat healthier and push myself to work out consistently. Even skinny people don’t feel confident sometimes. The goal for me is to get healthier. I eat way too much junk food–FAST FOOD–and it needs to stop.

So without further adieu, here’s DAY ONE:

SlimDown_day1-2_YearOf25

I woke up an hour earlier than usual to fit in a 30-minute workout. Now, anyone who knows me knows that I am god awful about drinking water so I’m pretty sure I’m dehydrated a lot, which means I probably didn’t have enough stamina to run a full 30 minutes. So I ran for 5 minutes and then power walked the rest of the time–still broke a massive sweat so that’s a good sign.

For breakfast, I ate two egg muffins. It looks so delicious and healthy but I am not a fan of it. Almost makes me wish I had taken a chance on the protein shake. I’m positive that if I was someone who was healthy and had a healthy palate, I would thoroughly enjoy the muffin, but alas. Honestly I don’t think my body is cut out for healthy eating.

SlimDown_day1-6_YearOf25

After getting to work, I started feeling grouchy, getting very annoyed at little things. This is a phenomena called “Hulk Siri,” which was made up by my friends when I am super hungry and get super sassy, maybe even bitchy. As much as I was not particularly liking the start of my challenge, I realized that my body might need to adjust to the new diet and not pigging out for breakfast.

In between meal 1 and meal 2, I’m supposed to have a snack and a Meta-D drink. At first I thought Meta-D was a vitamin or something, but it’s actually this nasty concoction that apparently is really good for your digestive tract and boosting your metabolism. It’s got apple cider vinegar, apple juice, cinnamon and cayenne pepper–so it’s definitely got a big kick to it. As soon as I took a sip and my lips touched the liquid, it was burning!

Today in the office is known as “Deadline Monday,” and the CEO buys the entire office lunch from this Mexican place across the street–La Cabanita–that serves hella delicious food. I was soooooo tempted to get myself my usual chicken enchiladas with spanish rice and chips with dip, but I resisted and ate my power bowl of chicken, broccoli and quinoa.

When I got home, I was not ready for a second workout–another 30 mites of cardio. I had never done work on an elliptical before so I went for that. Oh my goodness, my arms, my legs, everything is sore right now. It worked up double the sweat I had this morning! I could feel the sweat dripping down my back. It was intense–however, I feel like I was going to topple the machine over cause it kept lifting itself up….unless I’m just an idiot and don’t know how to use one properly.

SlimDown_day1_YearOf25

Dinner is probably my favorite part of the day. I marinated a honey mustard chicken breast overnight and baked it in the oven. Normally I don’t like mustard, but after tasting the first bite…I am in love with this recipe. I would totally make this again.

Overall, it was a successful first day–I managed to stay on schedule and eat all the food and finish all my workouts. My co-workers were asking me why I’m doing a diet/workout challenge, saying I didn’t need to lose weight, but for real I am not trying to lose weight. I want to build and tone my muscles, get healthier AND today I learned that I just need to reteach myself self-discipline. I’ve become so sloppy with it lately.

So here’s to four more days! Hopefully my body adjusts!

Leave a Reply

