Slim Down Challenge Day 4

Today was a very long day. It started with the fact that I got 0 sleep–I was up all night for reasons I won’t share here. In all honesty, it was tempting to skip the morning workout and let my body take it easy without any rest, but I did it anyway.

SlimDown_day4-2_YearOf25

So the workout was a pyramid structure escalating in reps for each of the different workouts. I could only power through the first half (after the 25 reps each). I really wanted to finish it out, but 30 minutes had already expired and I had to get ready for work. Plus, with every rep, I was beat and light-headed.

Probably one of my favorite parts of this challenge is that it introduced me to the Meta-D drink. It’s quick, simple and easy to make and consume. Sure it burns and has a strong flavor for 3 gulps, but it comes with several benefits.

In the Facebook group page, someone posted a “slim tip” about staying hydrated. This seems like a no-brainer but everyone who knows me knows this is my weakest link. To remedy this, I got myself a camelbak from Contigo (in the featured image), and it has been the best purchase ever. I’m more inclined to drink water and have managed to re-fill it three to four times a day at the office, alone. I used to get random headaches in random spots on my head and it was…not so much painful, but more annoying. Since I’ve been drinking more water, I haven’t had any of those headaches, which is amazing.

For lunch, I wasn’t able to finish the entire meal again–ate 75%. Again, I was deterred by the dry textures of everything, so in future, I’m going to make my lunches the night before (maybe leftovers from dinner). I thought pre-packaging food for the week would be smart, but it actually didn’t hold up for me.

When I got home I thought about doing a 30-minute cardio workout of just walking, not jogging, not running, just plain walking. However, I felt enough of a surge of energy so I ran in 5-minute intervals. When I was walking in between, I increased the incline of the treadmill to make it more productive–definitely more productive than just walking.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

And alas, what has been the highlight of my days so far became the saddest part. Dinner was quinoa stuffed bell pepper with a fresh side salad (I made Watercress avocado salad). In the past I’ve made stuffed peppers before and it was not bad, so I was hoping that this one would be better. Sadly it wasn’t. First, I’m just not a fan of eating peppers whole like that. Second, since it took awhile to make both dishes, I wasn’t eating until 9:30pm, which is two hours after my usual time.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The salad wasn’t TOO bad, though. If I had slept a normal amount of hours the night before and wasn’t eating so late at night, it might have stood a chance. After all that cooking I had done, my appetite was gone.

I clearly wasn’t going to finish this dinner, and I love avocados and didn’t want to waste them, so I ate the avocados with the pepper’s stuffing. It goes against all my principles of not wasting food, but I couldn’t stomach it. Not to mention the piles and piles of dishes I had created.

It was a long day. By the time I went to bed I had gone 40 hours without sleep. Tomorrow is a new day, the last day of this challenge, and I need as much energy and rest for it.

Leave a Reply

