Slim Down Challenge Day 5

This has probably been the most upbeat day for me. Even though I didn’t quite catch up on sleep, I still felt energized and pumped up to tackle the last day of the challenge. I felt determined, happy and ready to finish this final day.

SlimDown_day5-2_YearOf25

Today’s workout challenge was a heavy cardio routine, and I surprised myself and did the whole thing. After everything I’ve done…burpees are the worst. It’s a very active workout and I tire really easily. So that goes on my list of “Siri can’t do these things well” along with push ups.

As a treat for myself, I decided to ditch the plain and dry chicken+broccoli+quinoa combo and made the shrimp stir fry for my lunch–double the servings. That was probably my favorite recipe from this week.

I had saved two egg muffins in the freezer because the recipe stated not to keep them stored for more than four days. But if you were planning to, then store in freezer and then thaw/heat up the day you eat it. However, when I reheated it and took the first bite…the flavor and texture was iffy so I yacked it up and tossed it. More sad wasteful food ): to make up for it, I drank a big glass of plain 2% milk.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

For my morning snack, I packed strawberries, which were kinda sour and tart! Then lunch time came around and I was super excited to eat that delicious stir fry, and it was delicious as expected.

When I got home from work, I skipped my last workout because I had to make dinner, clean up, pack for the weekend with Robert and then drive an hour to his place–so I didn’t want to leave too late. Dinner was supposed to be a bun-less turkey burger, and I had planned on getting the fresh ingredients for it but slipped my mind driving home.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

I had a brainstorm and improvised a turkey taco salad, which came out pretty decently. Just cooked the turkey with red onion, garlic with added salsa, chili powder and cumin. Then rested all of that onto a bed of spinach. Pretty darn proud of myself.

Well that concludes my 5-day challenge! I took a BEFORE picture of myself before the challenge started and took one this morning as my AFTER photo. It’s slightly noticeable but there’s some more definition of my body. Bigger picture is that I’m on the right track on doing my body good in the future.

SlimDown_day5-5_YearOf25

It’s definitely been a journey, and I learned a lot about myself, my limits and what I need to do going forward. I’m going to take what I experienced this week and mold it into a routine/diet that I can handle comfortably–suited for my schedule and body. Definitely going to incorporate these components:

  • Meta-D every day
  • snacking more throughout the day
  • try to work out every day for 30 minutes after work (unless I’m going to an event)
  • got some new recipes: honey-mustard chicken, shrimp stir fry, strawberry cobb salad
  • learned some new workout routines

As a cherry on top and a congratulations for “surviving” this challenge, Robert took me to Yogurtland for some froyo! I got the rocket pop sorbet + matcha green tea + Mario (Nintendo)’s chocolate gelato with strawberries on top ❤

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

I’m glad that I did this challenge. Most people think I did it to lose weight, but it’s totally something different. It’s about self-discipline for me. Because I was on a specific dietary plan, I was craving all the bad stuff I usually eat but resisted. Not only that but I got some new knowledge on how to build a healthier lifestyle for myself. Big thanks to Suzie in my hometown for posting inspirational stuff and enticing me with this challenge!

Maybe I’ll do another one…maybe!

Leave a Reply

