FASHION: Heartbreakin’ Thief LookBook

First look posted on LookBook of the year! All of the photos are taken by the amazing Jim Donnelly. Jim and I took photos in the arts district in Los Angeles, CA–right outside Paddy’s Pub from It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. It was a little chilly out, but it was sunny, quiet and a great photo session.

Lips: Smashbox Cosmetics
Necklace: Forever 21
Top/Bodysuit: Windsor
Jeans: Charlotte Russe
Shoes: Guess

The inspiration behind this look was coming out my comfort zone. Whenever I go shopping, I buy the usual stuff that I know is comfortable and fits me in the right way. I don’t know about you guys but how often do you buy something that is different, out of the box, maybe scandalous and outrageous? For me, fashion gives me another outlet to be adventurous and try new things. However, I would never buy something so scandalous that it’s inappropriate. Anything like this, I would make sure to wear it tastefully.

openblack_v2

 

I’ve never worn a bodysuit this exposed before, evident of the extensive use of fabric tape to keep from exposing everyone in the arts district. For the longest time it stayed hidden in my drawer cause I couldn’t muster up the courage to wear it out in public–plus I didn’t have the right tape. After my shoot, I’ve decided that I can wear this for a night out on the town.

In addition, I usually stray away from statement necklaces cause I don’t think I could pull them off, but this one from Forever 21 is actually really nice and complements the bodysuit well by hiding some of the exposed skin. I really like the necklace, and it can be worn casually or dressed up!

Lastly, the bright pink lipstick from Smashbox. Whenever I wear lipstick, I tend to stick with colors in the family of red. Again, never too sure if I can pull off such a bold color. Looking back at the photos, I don’t think any other color I have would have worked as well. With all of the dark and monotonous colors at play in the outfit, we needed something to stand out and POP without being over the top. The bright pink “Barbie” lips give a nice accent to the entire ensemble.

Glad to be back on the LookBook scene and can’t wait to put more outfits together!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

