LIFE: Siri Enjoys a Saturday Night?!

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m an introvert; that I prefer to stay in and pretend I know how to relax. It saves time and energy sitting in traffic and fighting for parking and it saves money on parking or valet. I’m perfectly content with staying at home.

But at the same time I feel the urge to wanna go out, dress up for a night out, meet new people, make new friends, the whole night life style.

This particular Saturday night I had only planned on going to a photo exhibit gallery to support one of the magazine’s photographers, Kevin Estrada. I love working with him, it’s so easy and painless to work with him and he always delivers great photos.

The gallery was at Pop Obscure Records, a small vintage records shop in Downtown LA. Kevin displayed various works of his photos spanning from the 80s, 90s and current times, which included Green Day, Iron Maiden, Metallica and many more. It’s inspiring to see the works of a pro photographer whose been doing what he loves for so long. I can only dream to take photos like he does.

One of the crazy coincidences that happened when I was there is that I ran into one of my friend’s boyfriends, who was playing guitar for the live band, Skum Love. I walked into Pop Obscure and immediately saw Brad and he saw me and we both said, “What the hell are you doing here?!”

Hard rock is not really my cup of tea, but I can appreciate the music and the energy the band puts forth. Passionate delivery vocally and instrumentally and got the audience involved by bringing the mic to them to sing the choruses. They even gained a few new fans who just happened to be walking by and heard the music.

After the performance, Brad reminded me that the Iron Maidens, who my friend, Nikki, plays guitar for, were playing a show not too far from my place. He said if I wanted to see them, he’d get me into the show on the guest list, no problem. I told him to count me in! I also realized that since the exhibit was going to end pretty early, I could also make an appearance at a friend’s live comedy show called Dope Fades for Twitch TV.

I was hella stoked I could make this comedy show, cause it was a really good time. When my friend and I had met for coffee I told him I wanted to be able to see the show live instead of via Twitch, however, with my busy schedule I wasn’t going to be able to see it until maybe March. Lucky me I was able to make this one and lend my support!

life012817-dopefades-year25

It was super chill hanging out and meeting his friends, most of whom went to the same college as me and I even reconnected with a friend I had classes with. An hour before the show went live, we all played Drawful with everyone there in the audience, and they said they had prizes to the winners of each round. Not to toot my own horn but I won the first game and got myself a gift card to Starbucks—my favorite!

It was great seeing Dope Fades in action. There are a lot more moving parts than you’d think, but it ran pretty smoothly. Not only do they have the live comedians but they also have comedians calling in and delivering their sets via Skype, which is great cause they connect to everyone via the Internet audience wise and talent wise.

After laughing so much and almost losing my voice, I headed over to the Iron Maidens show. I was so stoked to finally see Nikki play live—been trying to for two years! When we met back in college I knew she was into music, she played guitar and sang, and seeing where she is now on her journey was great. She was experiencing some technical difficulties with her amp, but she still rocked it. The energy was high and the audience ate up the performance.

Totally stayed up way later than my bed time, but it was all worth it. I’m more than happy to go out and support my friends with their endeavors. Everyone deserves success especially when they work hard for it.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

